July 17

Erle Stanley Gardner

Erle Stanley Gardner (born July 17, 1889) U.S. detective fiction writer (Perry Mason series) – The Case of the Perjured Parrot (1939)

Read more about Erle Stanley Gardner here

Watch a survey of Erle Stanley Gardner's publications

Shmuel Yosef Agnon

Shmuel Yosef Agnon (Hebrew: שמואל יוסף עגנון) (born July 17, 1888) – Hebrew novelist, short story writer, 1966 Nobel Prize in Literature winner – The Day Before Yesterday / Only Yesterday (1945)

Read Agnon's literary biography here

Listen to a talk about Agnon's life and literature

Michael Francis Gilbert

Michael Francis Gilbert (born July 17, 1912) U.K. mystery writer – Smallbone Deceased (1950)

Read the Author's Calendar biography of Michael Gilbert

Listen to a performance of Gilbert's "Last Chapter" here